How to be Happy?

Today was a pretty shitty day. Oh yeah I know, I mentioned in my very first post that I’d only post positive stuff. But this IS positive stuff, no worries. That doesn’t mean today wasn’t a shitty day.

Because today was a rather shitty day, not the shittiest, but shitty enough. Long story (no actually I just don’t want to elaborate on the shitiness. Some shit should be kept to our own shitty selves). How do you spell shittiness/shitiness anyway? I had a rather bad day but at night, I came across this video.

If a person with a lifelong disease can learn to be happy in that short amount of time he had, why can’t I? But of course we all can. It’s just that sometimes we get so caught up with wanting more and more that we forgot what we already had. So I listened to Sam talked about how to be happy and it was an amazing, amazing video. (Yes I am aware using ‘amazing’ twice to describe is a grammatical error.) But yeaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhh *exhales* his words were what I needed to hear on a shitty day like this and I think he is super inspiring. I like how he never expected pity, and instead expected more than that. He expected happiness. I like how he doesn’t need to be brave because he (I know I would) could cry and hate on the world and wake up everyday thinking “Why Me?”, but he doesn’t. He goes on being brave, being him and doing things he love doing. Halfway through the video, I no longer pity him. In fact I starting admiring him, his courage, his ability to find joy even in the darkness. He turned the darkness into light, sadness into happiness and that’s what we should be doing.

Bravery. I feel the need to quote Tobias Eaton on this:

“There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater.

But sometimes it doesn’t.

Sometimes it is nothing more than gritting your teeth through pain, and the work of every day, the slow walk toward a better life.

That is the sort of bravery I must have now.”

Pretty cool quote, huh? Thanks Tobias! 🙂

Initially I thought it was upsetting that Sam passed on earlier this year. He wanted to change the world and he could have if he had longer. Then a sudden realisation hit me- HE ALREADY HAD! Sorry for the caps, I ain’t shouting. But he already had! See, he already changed my mindset tonight and I am part of the world so technically, Sam you did change the world 🙂 Thanks Sam!

Anyway, I wasn’t feeling very well either and my awesome mother instantly prepared porridge for me. Although it was seriously just a bowl of porridge with nothing else, it was delicious (I added some tortilla chips into it…haha). Things to be grateful for. And my mom also shared with me some problems her friend was facing and I listened…that was when I realised, Hey today was a pretty great shitty day. I could have had some crazy unsolvable problem or maybe lost my life but I didn’t.

So here I am typing away, finally realising that some shitty days can be positive too. POSITIVE SHITTY DAYS FTW! Onward to another positive day tomorrow!

It’ll be great if we can leave out the shittiness, though 😛

Leave a Reply

